State Department issues new sanctions against Turkish SSB and its officials


The State Department has issued further sanctions against Turkish defense industry SSB, its chairman and other officials for possessing Russian S-400 missiles.

A press release says the Secretary of State has determined, under the Combating America’s Adversaries Through Sanctions Act (CAATSA), 2017, that the Turkish entity Presidency of Defense Industries (SSB) had engaged in a material transaction with a person who is part of, or operates for or on behalf of, the defense or intelligence sectors of the government of the Russian Federation.

The Secretary of State also chose certain sanctions to be imposed on SSB and Ismail Demir, president of SSB; Faruk Yigit, vice president of SSB; Serhat Gencoglu, head of the air defense and space department of SSB; and Mustafa Alper Deniz, Program Manager for the Regional Directorate of Air Defense Systems of SSB, in accordance with CAATSA.

This document is expected to be published in the Federal Register on 07/04/2021 and available online at and at

Sanctions chosen to be imposed on appeal by the SSB on departments and agencies of the United States government must not issue a specific license or grant any other specific authorization or authority under the Export Control Reform Act, 2018. , the Arms Export Control Act, the Atomic Energy Act of 1954, or any law requiring the prior review or approval of the United States government as a condition of exporting or re-exporting goods, or of technologies to SSB.

Financial institutions in the United States are prohibited from making loans or credits to SSB in an aggregate amount greater than $ 10,000,000 in any 12-month period, unless SSB is engaged in activities aimed at alleviating human suffering and that loans or credits are not granted for such activities.

The Export-Import Bank of the United States will not approve the issuance of any guarantee, insurance, extension of credit or participation in extension of credit in connection with the export of any good or service to SSB.

The executive director of the United States at each international financial institution will use the voice and vote of the United States to oppose any loan from the international financial institution that would benefit SSB; and impose on the principal officer (s) of the SSB, or on persons exercising similar functions and having similar authorities to those of this officer (s), certain sanctions, chosen by the Secretary of state.

In addition, it is noted that the Secretary of State chose other sanctions to be imposed on Ismail Demir, Faruk Yigit, Serhat Gencoglu and Mustafa Alper Deniz. These include a ban on any foreign exchange transaction that is subject to the jurisdiction of the United States and in which all four officials have an interest, a ban on any transfer of credit or payment between financial institutions, or by , by, or to any financial institution, to the extent that such transfers or payments are subject to the jurisdiction of the United States and involve any interest of Ismail Demir, Faruk Yigit, Serhat Gencoglu or Mustafa Alper Deniz.

In addition, all property and interest in the property of the four Turkish nationals who are in the United States, who will subsequently come to the United States, or which are or will pass into the possession or control of any person from the United States. United are blocked and cannot be transferred, paid for, exported, withdrawn or otherwise processed.

It was also decided that the Secretary of State would deny a visa to the four Turkish nationals and exclude them from the United States, treating them as persons covered by Article 1 of Proclamation 8693 of July 24, 2011 (Suspension of l entry of foreigners to the United Nations Security Council travel bans and international law sanctions on emergency economic powers).

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.